Privacy Policy

The U15 respects individual privacy and complies with all applicable laws in hosting COGNITCA.

Use of Publicly-Available Information

1. The COGNIT.CA website is a service to the research community that relies on publicly-available data about Canadian research. (See data sources for more information.) Individuals with concerns about the information presented on COGNIT.CA are invited to contact us at [email protected] Users may be re-directed to the primary data provider – e.g. NSERC, SSHRC or CIHR.

Institution Accounts

2. Research institutions (e.g. universities, hospitals, etc.) may be permitted to create a COGNIT.CA institution account by providing the U15 with the name of an administrator and valid business e-mail address. The U15 uses account information to provide service and communicate with account holders.

User Analytics

3. When a user accesses COGNIT.CA, various pieces of data are exchanged between the user’s computer and the U15. The U15 stores this transactional data, which consists of:

  • IP address and corresponding domain name, if available
  • Operating system and web browser employed
  • Address of any referring website site
  • Applicable search engine queries
  • Pages visited on COGNIT.CA
  • Date, time and duration of the visit
  • Queries made on COGNIT.CA’s search engine.

4. The U15 gathers this data in order to improve its service, develop new services, demonstrate value to existing or potential supporters and address site security and related issues.

5. The U15 may make statistics about searches available to research institutions to facilitate planning or decision making. Any statistics that could be reasonably be used to identify a natural person are not shared.

6. The U15 ordinarily retains logs of browsing activity for two weeks to facilitate troubleshooting. Logs related to system errors are ordinarily retained for up to two years. Use analytics data is ordinarily retained for up to three years.

COGNIT.CA Cookies

7. COGNIT.CA will ordinarily install a cookie on a user’s hard disk to enable some site functionality. The cookie expires 30 days after the last use of COGNIT.CA. Users can also refuse cookies by changing their web browser preferences. Since cookies are not necessary to use COGNIT.CA, users who refuse cookies can navigate COGNIT.CA web pages freely and without any problem.

Communications and Contact Forms

8. The U15 retains and uses information sent to it via e-mail and submitted through the COGNIT.CA “feedback” form to improve service and develop new services, for communication purposes and for related administration.

9. The COGNIT.CA “contact institution” form allows users to send messages to various third-parties via COGNIT.CA. The U15 delivers messages to intended recipients. It retains only metadata about messages, though masks user e-mail addresses to protect against re-identification.

10. Users may sign-up for e-mail communications about COGNIT.CA. Users may unsubscribe from these communications at any time.

Use of Third-Party Services

11. The U15 uses the following third-party services in operating COGNIT.CA:

Service Function Installs cookies
Amazon Web Services COGNIT.CA is hosted by Amazon Web Services. For more information click here. No
Cloudfare COGNIT.CA uses Cloudflare to enhance the website’s performance and security. From more information click here. Yes
Google Analytics COGNIT.CA user analytics is supported by Google. For more information click here. Yes
Usersnap COGNIT.CA user feedback is supported by Usersnap. For more information click here. Yes
Sentry COGNIT.CA web application error tracking is supported by Sentry. For more information click here. No

Security

12. The U15 employs reasonable physical, technical and administrative security measures to protect COGNIT.CA data from unauthorized access and handling as well as loss and theft. Employees of the U15 who are given access to COGNIT.CA data are required to use and disclose it only as authorized by the U15.

Official text

13. This document was originally drafted in English and has been translated into French for the convenience of users. For matters involving the interpretation of any portion of this document, the official text shall be the English version of the document.

Contact us

14. All privacy-related inquires and inquires about this document may be directed to the U15 privacy officer at [email protected]

Politique sur la protection des renseignements personnels

U15 respecte la vie privée des personnes et se conforme aux lois applicables à l’hébergement de COGNITCA.

Utilisation de renseignements mis à la disposition du public

1. Le site Web COGNIT.CA est un service rendu aux intervenants du milieu de la recherche; il repose sur des données mises à la disposition du public concernant la recherche canadienne. (Voir les sources des données pour plus d’information.) Les personnes qui ont des craintes concernant un renseignement publié sur COGNIT.CA sont invitées à communiquer avec nous par courriel, à : [email protected] Les utilisateurs peuvent être redirigés vers le principal fournisseur des données, soit le CRSNG, le CRSH ou les IRSC.

Comptes des établissements

2. Les établissements de recherche (par ex., les universités, les hôpitaux, etc.) peuvent obtenir l’autorisation de créer un compte d’établissement COGNIT.CA en fournissant à U15 le nom d’un administrateur ainsi qu’une adresse de courriel d’entreprise valide. U15 utilise l’information du compte pour offrir des services et communiquer avec les détenteurs du compte.

Analyse de l’utilisateur

3. Lorsqu’un utilisateur accède à COGNIT.CA, divers éléments de données sont échangés entre l’ordinateur de l’utilisateur et U15. U15 entrepose ces données transactionnelles qui comprennent:

  • L’adresse IP et le nom de domaine correspondant, le cas échéant
  • Le système d’exploitation et le navigateur employés
  • L’adresse du site référent, le cas échéant
  • Les requêtes de moteur de recherche applicables
  • Les pages visitées sur COGNIT.CA
  • La date, l’heure et la durée de la visite
  • Les requêtes faites sur le moteur de recherche de COGNIT.CA.

4. U15 recueille ces données afin d’améliorer les services existants, développer de nouveaux services, témoigner d'une optimisation envers ses partisans actuels ou potentiels et veiller à la sécurité du site tout en remédiant aux enjeux connexes.

5. U15 peut mettre à la disposition des établissements de recherche des données statistiques sur la recherche pour faciliter la planification ou la prise de décisions. Les données statistiques qui pourraient raisonnablement servir à identifier une personne ne sont pas communiquées.

6. U15 retient normalement des registres d’activités de navigation pendant deux semaines pour faciliter le dépannage. Les registres liés aux erreurs du système sont généralement conservés pendant deux ans. Les données analytiques sont habituellement conservées pendant un maximum de trois ans.

Cookies COGNIT.ca

7. En règle générale, COGNIT.CA installera un cookie sur le disque dur d’un utilisateur pour activer les fonctions du site. Le cookie expire 30 jours après la dernière utilisation de COGNIT.CA. Les utilisateurs peuvent aussi refuser les cookies en changeant les préférences de leur navigateur Web. Comme les cookies ne sont pas nécessaires pour utiliser COGNIT.CA, les utilisateurs qui refusent les cookies peuvent naviguer librement et sans aucun problème sur les pages web de COGNIT.CA.

Communications et formulaires de contact

8. U15 conserve les renseignements qui lui sont transmis par courriel à l’aide du formulaire « Rétroaction » de COGNIT.CA et les utilise pour améliorer ses services et élaborer de nouveaux services à des fins de communication ainsi que pour toute tâche administrative connexe.

9. Le formulaire « Contacter l’établissement » de COGNIT.CA permet aux utilisateurs d’envoyer des messages à divers tiers par l’intermédiaire de COGNIT.CA. U15 transmet les messages aux destinataires visés. Il conserve uniquement les métadonnées liées aux messages, bien qu’il masque l’adresse de courriel de l’utilisateur pour le protéger d’une éventuelle ré-identification.

10. Les utilisateurs peuvent s’abonner aux communications par courriel concernant COGNIT.CA. Ils peuvent se désabonner de ces communications en tout temps.

Utilisation de services tiers

11. U15 utilise les services tiers suivants pour assurer le fonctionnement de COGNIT.CA:

Service Fonction Installation de cookies
Services Web d’Amazon COGNIT.CA est hébergé par les Services Web d’Amazon. Pour obtenir davantage d’information à ce sujet, veuillez cliquer ici. No
Cloudfare COGNIT.CA utilise Cloudflare pour améliorer la performance et la sécurité de son site Web. Pour obtenir davantage d’information à ce sujet, veuillez cliquer ici. Yes
Google Analytics La fonction d’analyse de l’utilisateur de COGNIT.CA est soutenue par Google. Pour obtenir davantage d’information à ce sujet, veuillez cliquer ici. Yes
Usersnap La rétroaction de l’utilisateur de COGNIT.CA est soutenue par Usersnap. Pour obtenir davantage d’information à ce sujet, veuillez cliquer ici. Yes
Sentry La détection des erreurs de l’application Web COGNIT.CA est soutenue par Sentry. Pour obtenir davantage d’information à ce sujet, veuillez cliquer ici. No

Sécurité

12. U15 a mis en place des mesures physiques, techniques et administratives raisonnables pour protéger les données de COGNIT.CA contre l’accès et le traitement non autorisé ainsi que contre la perte et le vol. Les employés de U15 qui ont accès aux données de COGNIT.CA doivent les utiliser et les divulguer conformément aux autorisations données par U15.

Texte officiel

13. La version originale du présent document a été rédigée en anglais, puis traduite en français pour la commodité des utilisateurs. Pour toute question relative à l’interprétation du présent document, la version anglaise fait foi.

Pour nous joindre

14. Les requêtes liées à la protection des renseignements personnels en lien avec le présent document peuvent être adressées à l’agent de la protection de la vie privée de U15, à : [email protected]